Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Help with identifying vintage Martin Freres set -3 clarinets in one case, A/Bb/C  (Read 67 times)

Offline MagooTang

• Newbie!
    • View Profile
Hi clarinet experts-

I'm a music teacher who stumbled upon this neat looking box of three clarinets in an antique store. Picked it up because I could barely read "Martin" on the A clarinet, and I've never seen keys quite like these before.

When I got home, a quick search found that this could be the "Simple System Clarinet by Martin Freres (Key of A, Bb or C) Boxwood or Grenadilla – Professional c1870 – c1905" but I have no idea if it is all original, it just appears to all be exact, and in working order.

I guess my question is looking at the pictures do you think I am correct in my assumption? Does anyone have any more information about this? I can provide more pictures if need be!  :)

Offline DaveLeBlanc

• Administrator
  • Clarinet-ing since 2012
    • View Profile
    • Watson Musical
Welcome Mangoo!

(by the way, i LOVE Tang.)

Triple-clarinet sets are hard to find, and a triple-clarinet case is very hard to come by.

However, the clarinets do not appear to be a matched set.

The clarinet third from left and the far right (possibly the Bb clarinet) is of an older vintage than the other two.

The key here is the lack of rings on the upper section, and the lack of rollers on the lower section pinky keys.

The lack of rings and rollers indicates that this particular model is closer to the 1870-1890 range. Split the difference and call it 1880.

The other two (C and A, I presume) are squarely in the 1900-1920 range. 1895-1905 would be my guess.

The two with matching key systems (assuming they are both marked Martin) are very likely from an originally matching set - although C and A sets are odd. Can you confirm which clarinet is which key? I have a hard time telling lengths from the computer screen.