Author Topic: Confession Thread.  (Read 213 times)

Offline DaveLeBlanc

• Administrator
  • Clarinet-ing since 2012
    • View Profile
    • Watson Musical
Confession Thread.
« on: December 18, 2018, 08:44:47 PM »
With the lack of new posts lately, thought I'd try to do something different.

What's a music related confession that you've been dying to tell?

For me, it's the fact that I am actually quite terrible at playing all clarinets.

In mid-7th grade, the band director "upgraded" me to playing the bass clarinet, mostly because there were zero basses in the band. After that, I never went back to soprano.

I played bass clarinet from 7th to 9th grade, and then quite clarinet entirely. I would pick up my old Buffet B12 (as I did not own a bass) maybe once a month and jam out a little bit, but not at all regularly.

I did not play any kind of clarinet in any capacity until I was a freshman in college, when I took a 2-unit band course where I was able to borrow a school LeBlanc bass for ZERO cost, because once again there were exactly zero bass clarinets in the entire band.

The second quarter of freshman year, I purchased for myself a M. Lacroix bass clarinet which was my daily player for a bit. I soon acquired a Conn hard rubber bass, and played on that for a while. I lent the Conn to a fellow band member and went back to the M. Lacroix.

At one point I sold both of the bass clarinets and QUIT the school band entirely.

I did not play again until junior year, when I bought for myself a Bundy contra alto clarinet which I played in both the school band and an extra-curricular video game music group.

I then sold the contra alto and quit playing for a year. I bought another contra alto and then rejoined the school band for one quarter, and then quit the school band again. I continued on in the extra curricular group for the remainder of senior year and all of my graduate year.