Author Topic: Vintage Martin Freres Grand Prix advice  (Read 49 times)

Offline CarlaB

• Newbie!
    • View Profile
Vintage Martin Freres Grand Prix advice
« on: February 06, 2019, 02:16:10 PM »
Good evening folks!

I have a vintage Martin Freres Grand Prix clarinet that I'm looking to sell. It was my Dad's, he bought it second-hand circa 1963, as he fancied playing it but he says 'I wasn't very good' so he didn't try that long! He's not a musician, plays no other instruments, so I'm not surprised.... Anyway, it's not been used or played since then - I'm a guitarist (with some keyboard skills!).

I've attached pics of the stamp (quite faded and difficult to read, sadly), and the whole clarinet. I think it's No 7 from the 1905 catalogue on the Martin Freres site here: http://martinfreres.net/martin-freres-catalog-of-clarinets-from-1905/?

It measures 23" (58.5cm) from end of bell to bottom of mouthpiece. It's not clear what key it's in from the stamp - I'd have thought Bb, but what's in the stamp looks more like an A? It certainly doesn't look like it would have been a Bb or Eb.....but perhaps what I'm looking at isn't the key (I'm looking at the bit immediately under the logo, and above where it says 'Grand Prix'). Any ideas on exactly what it is, or how to find out, would be very gratefully recieved!

Dating is notoriously difficult with vintage Martin Freres, but it looks like 1905/6-1914 or so from what I can tell. Martin Freres seem to think these pre-1920 ones are quite rare if they can be played, and, if it is in A, it could be even more rare as I can find no reference to vintage Martin Freres Grand Prix Clarinets in A! Maybe I should contact them and see if they know what it is - or have seen one like it?! They don't seem that keen to get involved in vintage pieces these days, but are still researching so might be interested if it were something they've not yet come across!