Author Topic: Eb & D clarinet set (what?)  (Read 86 times)

Offline DaveLeBlanc

• Administrator
  • Clarinet-ing since 2012
    • View Profile
    • Watson Musical
David Watson of the original The Clarinet Pages

Offline BLMonopole

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Eb & D clarinet set (what?)
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2019, 03:43:33 PM »
Well, it WAS a thing.  Not much written for D clarinets these days (or, really, ever).  I can think of maybe 4 pieces of music and an Eb can handle those just fine.

Offline el3637

• Newbie!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2019, 12:48:13 PM »
I grew up with a living room lamp my dad made from an Albert system C clarinet.  I had forgotten about that sort of thing until I started playing sax and remembered the disassembled Wurlitzer / Conn stencil C melody saxophone that was always kicking around our house.  Too many parts missing to do anything with it now and it wouldn't make a good lamp.  But I have never heard of a D clarinet.  I have my mom's Selmer - probably made in the 30s or 40s - and dad's clarinets, a 1949 Selmer A, a mid 60s Selmer Eb, and his unique Centered Tone modified Bb. 

Albert system clarinets were being given away or sold for pennies in the 1960s.  Now they are desirable it seems, now that I don't have any.  At least if they are low pitch.  My godfather and my dad's best friend died in the early 60s and left a Buffet Bb and A set to my dad.  But he sold them somewhere along the way when he needed cash. 

Offline DaveLeBlanc

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Watson Musical
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2019, 11:17:04 PM »
Many Albert system clarinets can be bought for $50 or less, but some are worth a LOT more, for no real reason.

I suspect it might have something to do with a general societal shift towards "older" things. For example, 20 years after the literal death of film photography, film is one of the hottest trends in photography today.

Offline el3637

• Newbie!
    • View Profile