Author Topic: Need Help with Pricing, Please  (Read 1580 times)

Offline aaronkei

• View Profile
Need Help with Pricing, Please
« on: May 11, 2015, 09:30:37 AM »
Hello,
My name is Aaron and I am a college student from South Carolina. I have an R13, serial number 385002, so I think it was made in '94. I was curious as to how much a clarinet like this, in good condition, would run. I got it 4 years ago and it cost me $1,644. I want to get a clarinet from the 70's or older, but I want to see how much I might could get out of this one. Can anyone help?
Thanks,
Aaron

Offline DaveLeBlanc

• Administrator
  • Clarinet-ing since 2012
    • View Profile
    • Watson Musical
Re: Need Help with Pricing, Please
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2015, 04:35:12 PM »
An easy way to price is to on eBay and do an "Advanced Search" for your clarinet, but check the box marked "Sold Items Only"

This lets you see exactly how much other similar clarinets have sold for.

A search like this finds that an R13 clarinet can sell for as low as 800 to as high as 1200.  I would wager that yours would go for between 1000 and 1100 if its in great shape.
David Watson of the original The Clarinet Pages

Offline Airflyte

• CONNoisseur of Vintage Ebonite
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2015, 07:56:42 PM »
" I want to get a clarinet from the 70's or older, but I want to see how much I might could get out of this one. Can anyone help?"

-Aaron, keep the RI3 - JUST KEEP IT!. There's no need to sell it to get a vintage clarinet - they're literally a dime-a-dozen unless of course it's an R13! Buy an old Conn and call it a day . . . . . . . .
"The Clarinet - in a class of its own"

Visit Phil Pedler's Clarinet Pages NEW website!
https://sites.google.com/clarinetpages.net/clarinetpages

Offline philpedler

• owner of this site
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • ClarinetPages
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2015, 07:59:05 PM »