Author Topic: Requesting info about a Thibouville clarinet  (Read 4952 times)

Offline SW

• Newbie!
    • View Profile
Requesting info about a Thibouville clarinet
« on: July 22, 2017, 06:50:46 PM »
Newbie here folks … so please bear with me.  I have recently been given my grand-grandfather’s clarinet.  I’ve determined Thibouville made it.  There are 13 lines of scripting on the bell –  summarized below.  I’ve not yet found a serial number or other markings.  Is there any way to narrow down the year  it was made?   I’m guessing 1900, give or take a year.  Does that seem reasonable to this forum?  Spelling below may not be 100% accurate.

Legion D’ Honneur
Hors Concours
Paris
1878-1889-1900
<several ringed logo>
Jerome
Thibouville
Lamy
F de C’Armee
Brevettes GOG   (this line was hard to read)
(?)  68 R Reaumur
PARIS
AA             Does AA mean it is an A-Flat?

The clarinet is in very good condition for its age, though I have not looked to do any further cleaning on it, nor yet tried to play it.    It just recently came into my possession.

Thank you for any further insights into this instrument.

Offline DaveLeBlanc

• Administrator
  • Clarinet-ing since 2012
    • View Profile
    • Watson Musical
Re: Requesting info about a Thibouville clarinet
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2017, 07:01:53 PM »
1900 sounds about right. At least, that's the absolute earliest date it could be, so there's a date constraint.
Can you post a few pictures? Key style can help pinpoint down a date.

The "AA" most likely does NOT mean Ab. The Ab sopranino clarinet is exceedingly rare, and I don't think Thibouville even made any, especially that early.
David Watson of the original The Clarinet Pages

Offline SW

• Newbie!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2017, 07:31:44 PM »
I hope these help!  Thank you.

Offline Tinker73

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2017, 08:05:42 PM »