Author Topic: Ultimate Mouthpiece Buying Guide (INPUT NEEDED)  (Read 255 times)

Offline DaveLeBlanc

• Administrator
  • Clarinet-ing since 2012
    • View Profile
    • Watson Musical
Ultimate Mouthpiece Buying Guide (INPUT NEEDED)
« on: November 12, 2019, 07:15:26 PM »
Hey all,

I wanted to collate a list of the best mouthpieces of all materials, and all price points, and unify everything into the Ultimate Clarinet Mouthpiece Buying Guide.
Mouthpieces are arguably one of the most important aspects of a clarinet's sound, and a good one can make a $20 clarinet sound like gold; a bad one can make an R13 sound like trash.

I'm not a super expert, but I'll start with my recommendations.

HARD RUBBER:
Budget Range - Geo M Bundy 3 (vintage) - ~$25
Mid Range - Selmer HS* (vintage) - ~$50
High Range - Rico Reserve X5 (modern) - $100

Plastic:
Budget Range - Yamaha 4C (modern) - ~$15
Mid Range -
High Range -

Wood:
Budget Range -
Mid Range -
High Range -

Crystal:
Budget Range - (are there really any budget options here?)
Mid Range -
High Range - Pomarico Sapphire - ~$130
David Watson of the original The Clarinet Pages

Offline windydankoff

• Put a BLACK HOLE in YOUR galaxy!
    • View Profile
    • Black  Hole Clarinets
Re: Ultimate Mouthpiece Buying Guide (INPUT NEEDED)
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2019, 08:56:23 PM »
HARD RUBBER: