Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Clarinet newbie  (Read 270 times)

Offline Goonny_Bedman

• Newbie!
    • View Profile
Clarinet newbie
« on: December 29, 2021, 03:33:04 PM »
Howdy folks.
Clarinet newbie here with a few questions.

I picked up an old clarinet almost 3 years ago with a view of giving it a try, but work & kids took over my free time, so I never got to play it and it went into the attic until a few days ago. Now it's back out of the case and in 3 days I went from hissing and squeaking to being able to blow an octave & a half (not quite in tune).
Hoping to get some lessons soon, but for the time being just trying to play a few sounds on it.

I found a "tonestro" app that apparently records your playing and shows pitch errors, which sounds like a great learning aid to me. The cost of the app, however, seems to be quite high and only available on a recurring subscription basis, so I tried looking for alternatives. Can you recommend any similar products?
I found Take7, but it does not show pitch errors. E.g. if I blow 30c off, it still shows that a correct note has been played!

I am mainly interested in the jazz side of the clarinet, with almost no interest in classical, so any advice on how to approach learning would be welcome. I would also appreciate the directions to the crossroads where I can sell my soul in exchange for that Edmond Hall or George Lewis sound.

Thanks.

Offline LarryS

• I'm getting there...
    • View Profile
    • My Music Tree
Re: Clarinet newbie
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2021, 10:20:45 AM »
Welcome to the forum. I think I tried  the free version of that app when I was intent on learning the flute but didn't get on with it at all. In fact I found it pretty useless.
You don't stop playing when you get old, you get old when you stop playing.
My music blog:
The Music Tree

Clarinet Pages are go!

Offline Goonny_Bedman

• Newbie!
    • View Profile