Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Help me choose.  (Read 759 times)

Offline gerardo1000

• Newbie!
    • View Profile
Help me choose.
« on: April 14, 2023, 06:35:09 AM »
I am a 71 years old beginner student of flute, and I'd like to buy my first clarinet, but I have a limited budget.
What would you choose between a brand new Jean Paul clarinet, made in China but apparently of decent quality, and an old Yamaha YS26 completely refurbished and cleaned by a professional? The Jean Paul is sold for $249.00. The Yamaha that I mentioned is sold on E Bay for around 240.00 and shows pictures of the clarinet taken apart for refurbishing. Thank you for your opinion.

Offline windydankoff

• Put a BLACK • HOLE in YOUR galaxy!
    • View Profile
    • Black Hole Clarinets
Re: Help me choose.
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2023, 06:48:29 AM »
Chinese instruments can be good but they are prone to small defects from semi-skilled assembly and lack of player-testing. The Yamaha, if overhauled by a good stateside professional, is a fine-sounding instrument, well made, and more likely to please.
Windy at BLACK • HOLE Clarinets
"User-Friendly" clarinets in Bb and C
http://www.windydankoff.com/black-hole-clarinets.html

Offline DaveLeBlanc

• Administrator
  • Clarinet-ing since 2012
    • View Profile
    • Watson Musical
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2023, 12:50:59 PM »
I would definitely go for a Yamaha vice Chinese Jean Paul.

However, there is a Chinese maker, Kenny Woodwinds, who makes an incredible clarinet for around your budget. I don't know if he's still in business, but last I checked they were selling for around $300, and were poly-cylindrical, nearly pro-grade for a great price.
David Watson of the original The Clarinet Pages
Virginia Beach, Virginia

Offline windydankoff

• Put a BLACK • HOLE in YOUR galaxy!
    • View Profile
    • Black Hole Clarinets
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2023, 05:58:07 PM »