Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Help me identify this old Buffet Crampon clarinet...  (Read 232 times)

Offline mobaar

• Newbie!
    • View Profile
Help me identify this old Buffet Crampon clarinet...
« on: October 01, 2023, 09:33:51 AM »
Hello everyone,

I'll admit from the get-go: I am a trumpet player. I apologize in advance for wading into your world :)

My son is 14 and has been playing clarinet for 3 years. He loves music (I majored in music and was a professional/studio musician for several years in a previous life, so maybe it runs in the family?) and has been gradually improving. He plays a Buffet Crampon E11, an older 90's model. It works fine, just had its latest tune-up and pad replacement, and is otherwise no impedance whatsoever on his ability to improve. Since he's starting to take it seriously, I've started looking into the world of higher model clarinets, occasionally searched for great deals on professional model Yamaha and Buffet clarinets, but not pulled the trigger on anything. We had an event at our local music shop where students can try out the highest level professional instruments, and my son was impressed at how easy it was to get good tone and how free-blowing the higher level ones were. So there's interest there in moving up.